Child Car Seat Laws
The California Child Car Seat Installation, Inspection & Instruction Law is in effect as of January 1, 2013.
- Infants under the age of one and weighing no more than 35 pounds should be in an infant-only, rear-facing child safety seat (or a convertible child safety seat turned to face the rear of the vehicle), installed in the back seat.
- Children between the ages of one and four and weighing between 20 and 40 pounds can be in a forward-facing, forward-facing only, or convertible child safety seat, or a high-back booster or harness, installed in the back seat of the vehicle.
- Children between the ages of four and eight can be in a high-back or no-back belt-positioning booster, installed in the back seat of the vehicle. If the child is under the age of eight, but at least four feet and nine inches tall, a booster isn't required.
As of January 1, 2012 California Booster Seat Law prohibited parents, guardians, or drivers from transporting on a highway in a motor vehicle any child under 8 years oldor under 4 feet 9 inches without securing that child in a child restraint which meets federal motor vehicle safety standards. In addition, all kids younger than eight, must be secured in the back seat.
To make sure your child safety seat is properly installed, visit SeatCheck.org or call (866) 732-8243 to schedule an appointment with a Child Passenger Safety Technician.